spurts

It seems as though I write on this thing in spurts. 

I started buying coffee for Intelligentsia not too long ago. Pretty damn humbling experience. I was tasked with sourcing coffees from Mexico and this year I also joined a co-worker in Nicaragua. I have my own ambitions to find something nice in the Dominican Republic, but have yet to see a coffee sample break a solid 82/83 point threshold.

Enough about my job and coffee. That stuff is stressful, boring and seriously not something I want to be sharing in a public forum.

Lately I have been doing a lot of internal work as far as becoming more active in different ways. Running long distances has become somewhat difficult for me after my miniscus was shot post-marathon. Yes, it took me 5 hours to finish the NYC Marathon, and yes that makes me a slowpoke in some circles, but I finished. I never stopped moving even with my miniscus making me feel like my left leg would break off. I ended up walking a painful last 4 miles. Had I kept the pace I was at until mile 22 I would have made it in 4 hours or maybe even less. So now I am really into hiking, ad biking around town. I realized that when it comes to anything, I am not hyper competitive at all. I end up gravitating towards loner sports, such as running solo, climbing (my new love/obsession) and next weekend I am going to learn how to surf. 

I have nothing to prove to anyone but myself, and have little desire to come in first, be the best and fastest and baddest motherfucker out there. I just want peace, and happiness and love and openness in my life and most of the sports I seek have some sort of spiritual angle. At least it seems that way. I have heard that for many folks surfing is a spiritual thing to do to connect to nature, the same is said by many climbers. You see a rock/boulder/face of a mountain, and you climb it. You push YOURSELF to those places and see how far you can go without falling into the trap of “I can beat that other person”. 

I am more concerned with doing meaningful things, and things that help others in a positive way. Nature is something that will always outlive us, outsmart us, out think us, out last us. It demands our absolute respect. The older I get, the more I pull away from bullshit situations and the more I want to focus on doing GOOD things, not just things that advance me in some non-spiritual way. I am 34. There was a time in my life where I believed I wouldn’t make it past 24. And I have. Thankfully. We have such a short while on this planet. Make it count. 

~ by Me on July 8, 2012.

One Response to “spurts”

  1. I read your post before I put on my glasses and I thought you had injured your mucous. It sounded rare and uncomfortable, but I didn’t see how it would get in the way of future marathons. Also it made me wonder if I was injuring MY mucous from blowing my nose too often. Then I put on my glasses and I saw that you mucous was just fine. But I am sorry about your miniscus. You are always a superstar in my book, Gabe, no matter what you do on this planet. Hugs to you and beautiful Mae!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

