coke and steve

Man, I think I am still wired.

I hung out with Steve from Blue Bottle today for a huge chunk of it. We tasted espressos, machiattos and some white horse. I am still buzzing. BASTARD! It’s really all his fault. He was vibrating as he sat next to me at Ritual and made funny noises. But I don’t know him that well yet, so maybe that shit’s normal.

The roast beef on the sweet bread was amazing. Just what i needed too. I forgot to take pictures. Steve took plenty though, so I don’t feel too bad. Next time he will have to take pics of my latte art.

I also met James, Thomas and Kate from Blue Bottle and that was actually really exciting for me because I respect those guys so much for what they do and believe in. They are fantastic peers, and also mentors for me because though I have been doing this for three years, I consider myself very much a novice in coffee. I have much to learn and I feel i am still green in a lot of areas even though I am a brown guy.

i think i need to do more cuppings and develop my palate. I think I need to taste a lot of coffee. I know what I like and don’t like but I need to develop the language in which to descirbe what it is I am liking and disliking. Everyone is different, but it would be nice to be able to express myself better in terms of coffee. I don’t give a fuck about expressing myself in other areas, although I am sure mae would disagree vehemently. ooooh (james would be proud of my exensive vocabulary right now).

~ by Me on May 27, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
