I Love You Limmu

I cannot begin to tell you how excited I am about these news! On March 26th, I roasted coffee for the very first time!!!!!!! I am learning to roast from my best friend and coffee colleague Ryan Brown, and Ritual ower Jeremy Tooker. I am hoping that having both of them help me out will make me a well rounded roaster and one who is willing to try new things all for the love of coffee. Everyone approaches the roasting thing differently, and I am all about optimizing the coffee flavor and profile.

This is my first batch of the Ethiopia Limme EVER.

pressed it at home, and some serious vanilla, jasmine and a hint of raspberry came through the cup…the citrus came as it cooled down a bit. The body was good, but again, I know this coffee is fantastic, so I think it’s difficult even for a novice to really fuck it up (all you have to do is care about the coffee).

This is a totally different ballgame from the barista gig. I have training our new employees a lot lately, and messing around with coffee and coffee training techniques and getting help from some much respected friends such as Larson from Stumptown, but it is still a daunting and draining task. At the end of the day however, it feels really good to just work with coffee. The customer service thing can totally be a drag, so it’s nice to step back behind the scenes and focus on the coffee.


photo credit: Tonx

~ by Me on March 29, 2007.

2 Responses to “I Love You Limmu”

  1. congrats!

  2. I know what this means….you are hooked to the west coast now. damn it.

Leave a Reply

 
