keep on keepin’ on…

Things at Ritual are great. Things with me? They are getting to a good place. I am sort of an anxious fuck to begin with, so changes sort of jar me every once in a while, but usually I come around. Espresso blending is tough as hell, and it is very frustrating and definitely humbling. I am all about the humbling. The last thing I want is a fuckin ego!!

I am transitioning from barista trainer to roaster these next few weeks. I am very very nervous, and scared and excited all at the same time. I don’t want to fuck up roasting, the process, the beans…I want to do well. The shift in type of thinking is something to get used to. No more mechanical physical movements, and no more fast paced and effecient dances behind the bar. It will be interesting to see where this whole thing goes. I hope I earn my keep at Ritual. I hope I become a decent and steady and trusty roaster.

I want to make sure that I am still in touch with the baristas. I want to always communicate well with the people that are serving the coffee that I roast. it is importantfor me (and this is MY opinion only) to remain on the bar at least once a week, because that part of my life is very important as a coffee person. as a friend once told me it’s a small way to “keep it real”.

How do you learn to roast without a steady mentor? cup. cup. cup.

ask.ask.ask.ask.ask.

feedback.feedback.feedback.feedback.

and roast.roast.roast.

that’s all for now.

~ by Me on May 27, 2007.

3 Responses to “keep on keepin’ on…”

  1. I’m with you on the bar shift. It will help you stay in touch with the baristas and with the customers. Those are the people that you are roasting for, you have to stay connected to them!! I’m sure you are going to roast some beautiful coffee and you should send me some when you do!

  2. Hey Dan! yeah dude, you are one of the first in a group I have in my head, of people I want HONEST feedback from. I cannot learn anything if I only cup my own coffee over and over again with little feedback.

  3. Dude, you’ll be fine. You’re a consummate pro behind the bar, you’ll be consummate pro beside the roaster. And I’m looking forward to tasting the fruits of your labor.

Leave a Reply

 
