CoffeeLandia

The subject line was inspired by this great restaurant that my wife M, and Ryan and Drew went to a long time ago…specifically Puerto Rican and Cuban food, like my aunts and mom make. Damn tasty. The place was called Frutilandia. Fucking weird joint, but good folks and good food. I am gonna miss the Mission…yeah I said it. I mean, I don’t miss living there, but I will miss the little weird joints with great food and no pretentiousness or tasting menus, or taster’s flights. Just good down home latino food with immense flavor and cheap napkins.

I have a lot going on in my life right now, so I decided to sit down and have a good fucking breakfast. New York Strip Top sirloin with caramelized onions, some garlic and of course tons of butter. Fried eggs with sea salt thrown together on a cheap white plate with some serious hot sauce. Jesus Christ, just what I needed. So simple. So fucking good! I really wanted to share that.

On the side is a slice of home made honey & coffee bread my wife made last night (the coffee was a bit of our delicious el Salvador Bella Vista CoE coffee) and some raspberry jam on top (with some more butter), and in a Ritual mug, Barefoot’s juicy Rwanada Humure Co-op coffee made in the french press I bought years ago from my first stint at gimme!coffee.

I am registering for the SCAA trade show. Lots of things to look out for and get excited about, besides the USBC. I am purchasing my ticket now for Minneapolis and they are cheaper than I expected. Now for the room…

I’m throwin all this down to say I love coffee. I love people even as a hardcore anti-socialite. I love the connection you make to other things you would have never found had it not been for coffee.

My wife and I are moving back east early spring /summer. Plans abound. But exciting.

~ by Me on March 21, 2008.

2 Responses to “CoffeeLandia”

  1. hug

  2. hug back atcha.

Leave a Reply

 
