Guatemala

That’s right. Gabe finally got to go to origin. Thank you Slow Food! This is a post to be written when I have the time, and the patience and the zen mode turned on with a glass of Ron Zacapa 25+ year next to me. For now, a picture.

photo credit to Tonx.

I called Mae from Finca Agua Blanca at about 1800 meters? Tony? help me out here!

This trip if anything, taught me to take nothing for granted, and to be as aware a human being as possible of my actions and what I have. Also, never in my life have I felt more proud of my Latino heritage as the people I visited embraced me as their own. Made me miss my family back in PR. I learned a whole lot about the agricultural aspect of coffee, and the socio-economic political issues involved with coffee in Guatemala.

I’m hooked. For real this time. Anyone want to pay me to buy coffee for them in Latin America?

I am looking forward to going back with my wife, to show her what hard work, beautiful people, amazing food, humility, pride in their coffee and country looks like.

~ by Me on May 1, 2008.

4 Responses to “Guatemala”

  1. Looks like a great trip. I have a couple bottles of Zacapa at our warehouse. Come on by.

    JB

  2. Lothian says : I absolutely agree with this !

  3. word dawg!

  4. we’ll pay you to buy and roast coffee from Latin America. No retail slinging. All good stuff.

Leave a Reply

 
