Krummies

Most of my friends are tired of hearing how happy I am in Ithaca. It’s true. I am happy. I am happy in my marriage, happy in my job, happy in my life.

Nothin’ beats working for a smaller company that is growing and ambitious and with a bright future. NOTHING. Nothing beats working for a company that has such a positive outlook on the future, and believes in you as a person and as an asset to the company. Nothing beats your boss having total faith in you, at the same time trusting your ambition enough to throw projects at you, knowing you will bust your ass to meet deadlines (both your own, and the project’s). It’s an exciting time for gimme!coffee who has been laying low on the radar for a while, (which I think is a good thing) but things are growing and shifting and changing with many people involved in the process who really care about our direction and rate of growth.

I learned from a colleague that coffee is beautiful, and the possibilities endless. we haven’t even tapped the tip of the iceberg in regards to varietals, undiscovered farms/farmers/regions. Why rush? let’s take our time to get to know people beyond their farms, let’s seriously get to know each other on a real personal level, and maybe we will get beautiful coffee out of it. Let’s take and then PUT the time in. It’s worth it.

My move back east has been the best thing I have done in a LONG time. I miss my friends back in the bay area like crazy, but I am getting to do what I love to do here too. Air roasting is an interesting method, and the results are super intriguing to talk about, to taste, to try out. The variables are there, and there is much to discover and try out. There is some awesome potential to get different stuff out of coffee and out of roasting, and I am excited to try some stuff and to keep learning. I am never into bashing something without trying it first (well, that’s a lie, but I do my best) and this time around I really have a lot to learn about the Sivetz.

I get stoked to learn about anything really. Mostly these days it’s about growing plants, making beer and air roasting coffee. Those are my new obsessions as of right now, the latter being a requirement but a requirement I am really happy about pursuing. Cheers to learning.

~ by Me on September 23, 2008.

2 Responses to “Krummies”

  1. save a bottle for me!

  2. I’m glad that you’re happy and all, but I miss you guys! Keep us updated..

Leave a Reply

 
