Dogfish Head Immort Ale

11% goodness

11% goodness

I bought this beer at $4.oo /bottle from Finger Lakes Beverage Center. Holy crap. Very different sort of beer. Sticky, malty and very fruity. You could see the tree sap like body as I poured it into my glass, and the head was very intact but not over fluffy. The beer tasted of toffee, a little caramel and oak-like notes. There was something like the sweetness of grilled fruit and some vanilla and definitely maple (which is where the sap is coming from I think). Very nice bottle of beer.
I have been really getting into Dogfish Head stuff because they are totally proud of their off the wall brews, and they like messing around with flavors and ingredients you wouldn’t normally find in beer.
I love taste, so this was a pleasure tasting it. I am a lightweight however, and this one knocked me on my ass pretty good (thanks to the 11% ABV). I love beer for the flavors though, and this one, is certainly NOT a session beer.

~ by Me on October 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
