Manure, sunshine, salad, beer.

The ol’ lady and I spent 3.5 hours out in the sunshine this morning prepping (or starting to prep) our 22’X25′ garden space. We are sharing it with my friend and co-worker Anne Marie. I was raised in cities, never gardening ever in my life. The only gardening-like activity I did as a kid was pick lemons, bananas, mangoes and avocados from our back yard when I was a kid in Puerto Rico. That stuff grew on it’s own, no tending needed so I have VERY limited experience in the garden. So at the tender age of 30, I figured it wasn’t too late to start. I am very excited about growing out food. And canning and preserving the fruits for the winter.
We hauled manure, did soem rake tilling, weeding, set up posts and string and tomorrow we will go back to hook up the chicken wire and finish with the manure and de-rock and weed some more. Physically it is amazing, and exhausting but you feel like you have actually accomplished something. We went to a video art show last night and I saw that there are quite a bit of hipsters in Ithaca, and quite a few innovative artists too! sweet! I thought there were only hippy dippy, uber old school liberal quilt-makers and basket weavers here, but alas, there are young hip people doing cool shit here. I should be ashamed of myself thinking this way, but it’s the truth.
Not that there is anything wrong with quilting or basket-weaving, it’s the general attitude attached to these activities in this part of the country that truly make me wanna take a nap and not look at art.
I am ordering my supplies for a birthday porter I am making for a friend this week, and next weekend it’s beer-making time!
We have decided to grow tomatoes, potatoes, garlic, onion, eggplant, peppers, beans, squash, heirloom tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots, lettuce, cabbage and the latest addition is hops! hells yeah. I am on the hunt for good hops. they are super expensive, so if I could grow my own it would be very very nice.
the weather here is beautiful, makes me happy to be back east. the seasons changing are truly good for the soul.

~ by Me on May 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
