Vegan Puerto Rican

As if this year wasn’t tough enough with the loss of my beautiful mother, a few weeks ago I went to the hospital and got an ultrasound of my kidneys. Turns out, I have the same disease that took my mother from me. Polycystic Kidney Disease is hereditary and there is a 50% chance of your kids developing it. So I developed it. This means that my genes have sent a signal to my tubules to develop cysts that are non-removable in BOTH kidneys. The disease does not attack just one, it always attacks both kidneys.
In the end, unless some miracle happens and the cysts shrink on their own or disappear my only hope of leading a healthy/normal life is by transplant (which doesn’t happen til the kidneys are usually below 15% functionality) or by dialysis. Dialysis is extremely hard on the body. My mother surviving on dialysis for 19 years is a god damn miracle.
All this to say, that the best thing one can do a a PKD sufferer is go vegan. High protein diets are TERRIBLE for the kidneys, especially MY kidneys. Animal products are not good at ALL. Salt is terrible as well, and one of my vices…CHEESE is the worst of all. All animal protein and salt! damn it.
Anyone who knows me well, will tell you that I was a HUGE meat eater, cheese eater and I loved me some fatty, juicy animal proteins. So this switch was a strange one for me, but it happened from one day to the next. That’s right, the day I was diagnosed was the day I went vegan. July 10th, 2009.
But you know what? Even though this choice was not an ethical one or a socio-political one, I have to say it has opened up an entire world for me. I will go so far as to say that I actually TASTE more now. I think all that delicious umami from amazing meat products was masking other stuff. I feel physically more energized, I sleep like a stone, wake up really early and have way more energy through out the whole day. My mind is way clearer and I can eat a lot of food without feeling like I am gonna pass out or be rolled to the car. I have eaten varieties of fruits and vegetables I wouldn’t have touched prior to the diagnosis. My wife has been amazing enough to join me in the diet when she doesn’t have to. It’s been an interesting thing so far, because I am guilty of not understanding the whole concept of veganism prior to this. But I am going to say this, and I may get shit for it…I feel like more of a foodie by being vegan, because there is WAYYYYYYY more out there, culturally and other food-wise than just a good smoked beef/roasted pork/juicy bacon or what have you.
It’s approaching food in a way of truly fueling your body and mind, not just enjoying a salty/fatty piece of meat for enjoyment’s sake. In Hindu they believe that being vegan brings you closer to true life, as you are eating directly from the sun…the true source of life.
Believe me, I enjoy eating as much as I ever have, but there is a weird sense of truly tasting things in a way I have never really experienced before. I am not the type to turn down food at say Mae’s grandfolks’ house, or any other get together where it may be difficult to be vegan. I don’t believe in that, I believe if someone offers you food, and the only food they have is non-vegan it is right to take it and enjoy it because it is the fruit of their labor. There is some getting used to (veganism) by folks of an older generation for sure, especially in the midwest! I was wrong all those years for thinking vegans didn’t really enjoy or appreciate food. This will teach me! I’m puerto rican, roasted pork is in my BLOOD. But this has been a test for me, and I know that when it comes to my health/well being and prolonging the already shortened life I have…well, I don’t really have much of a choice do I?

~ by Me on August 28, 2009.

40 Responses to “Vegan Puerto Rican”

  1. Gaberino… You have my best wishes in your dietary pursuit and my greatest hopes that your kidneys keep doing what they need to do.
    You’ll enjoy the change of pace – it’s funny b/c I’ve recently abandoned vegetarianism and have a lot of the same feelings towards food, tasting more is especially one of them. The bottom line is the consciousness behind your actions, which will certainly be fun to discuss w/ you later on…
    Be well good friend!

  2. damn dude. bodies are crazy things, and eating is kinda weird too on many levels. I wish you good health and pleasurable dining in whatever form that needs to take.

  3. Dude tough news to hear, I was diagnosed with the same thing a few years back. Talk about a paradigm-shifting life event! Even though it normally affects people later on in life it has some pretty heavy implications. Good to hear you’re taking it in stride though, hang in there man & drop me a line sometime – it’d be good to catch up!

  4. I understand. My mom died of kidney disease as a result of long term lupus, which I had the distinct gift of receiving, at a very young age, the very same disease. I have no children by choice, as I knew at an early age what I was facing. I have made it my mission to help others in similar situations. I give you lots of prayers and blessings for a fruitful life as a vegetarian. I too had to go no protein for years…….now I am free of that diet and at stage 4 kidney disease I eat lots of protein. Miracles or aging?

  5. How did you make this blog look this sick! Email me if you want and share your wisdom. Id be appreciative!

  6. Re: The person who made the remark that this was a great internet site genuinely needs to get their brain analyzed.

  7. Dude. This blog is amazing! How do you make it look this good .

  8. Im having a little issue. I cant get my reader to pick-up your feed, Im using google reader by the way.

  9. I have got 1 idea for your website. It appears like at this time there are a handful of cascading stylesheet issues while launching a selection of web pages inside google chrome and safari. It is operating fine in internet explorer. Possibly you can double check this.

  10. This website is very cool. How can I make one like this .

  11. Im getting a little issue. I cant get my reader to pick-up your feed, Im using aol reader by the way.

  12. Have you considered including several social bookmarking links to these sites. At the very least for youtube.

  13. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your site? I am shopping for a great web host and your blog seams to be fast and up all the time

  14. While I actually like this publish, I think there was an spelling error near towards the end from the third paragraph.

  15. Whilst I really like this publish, I think there was an punctuational error close to the finish with the 3rd sentence.

  16. Have you given any kind of thought at all with converting your blog in to Chinese? I know a couple of translaters here that will would help you do it for free if you want to get in touch with me.

  17. Weird , your posting turns up with a black color to it, what color is the primary color on your site?

  18. When I originally commented I clicked the Notify me when new comments are added checkbox and currently every time a remark is added I get four email messages with the exact same comment.

  19. Have you considered adding some differing opinions to your article? I think it will really enhance viewers understanding.

  20. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Rss feed isnt functioning today. I tried adding it to my Google reader account and got absolutely nothing.

  21. An insightful blog post right there mate . Thank you for the post .

  22. Is it alright to insert a portion of this on my web site if perhaps I submit a reference point to this web site?

  23. As soon as I initially commented I clicked the Notify me any time new comments are added checkbox and currently each time a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the identical comment.

  24. If you dont mind, where do you host your web site? I am looking for a good quality web host and your weblog appears to be quick and up most the time

  25. Odd , your post shows up with a black color to it, what shade is the primary color on your web site?

  26. Please message me with a few pointers about how you made this blog look this cool , I would be appreciative.

  27. I had been wanting to know if you ever considered adjusting the design of your site? It is well written; I love what youve got to state. But maybe you could include a a bit more in the way of content so people can connect with it better. You have got an awful lot of text for only having one or two photos. Maybe you can space it out better?

  28. You ought to really moderate the commentary on this page

  29. I believe one of your ads initiated my web browser to resize, you might well need to place that on your blacklist.

  30. You should really control the responses at this site

  31. It seems to me that this web site doesnt download on a Motorola Droid. Are other people getting the same issue? I enjoy this website and dont want to have to miss it when Im gone from my computer.

  32. Is it okay to put a portion of this in my personal blog if perhaps I publish a reference to this website?

  33. I found this web-site, with helpful details about Wholesome Fruits

  34. It’s really a great and helpful piece of info. I’m happy that you shared this helpful information with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  35. Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to
    my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed.

    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to
    go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  36. This is actually a

    wonderful website

  37. Great weblog here! Additionally your web site rather a lot up
    fast! What host are you the usage of? Can I get your associate link for your host?
    I want my web site loaded up as fast as yours lol

  38. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    Do you offer guest writers to write content in your case?
    I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write related to here. Again, awesome blog!

  39. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a
    pretty penny? I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Appreciate it

  40. Normally I don’t read post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up
    very forced me to take a look at and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me.
    Thanks, very great post.

Leave a Reply

 
