I am still here, at least for now…

It’s been a long time since I have written anything. I have been so very busy with work and life in general. Now that I am in California things feel right, as I have always considered the bay area my home. I love Oakland and San Francisco and I even love Sonoma County where I have been commuting to every single day 2-3 hours per day to get to Ecco in Santa Rosa.
My mother’s first death anniversary was spent on the Caribbean Sea funny enough, in Tulum Mexico while on my very first vacation ever with my wife. The last time we had a non-move related trip was our honeymoon in Portland. It was amazing. Almost ten years together and never an official vacation! We celebrated my mother’s life and her lessons and her smile on the beach with candles and lots of kind memories of her. It is so difficult to shake, but everyday it gets more manageable.
Work wise things have been hectic and insane and exciting. I feel the most challenged I have ever felt professionally. Intelligentsia has lofty expectations from baristas to directors of departments, so I knew I was in it for the long haul. But it is worth it to have co-workers that respect you and are always willing to push that envelope with you.
I applied and got the job of the very first National Roasting Department Manager for Intelligentsia and Ecco. This means that the roasters have an advocate and someone to be there to support them and lead them and guide them and fight alongside them to roast the best coffee on earth. We have an extremely talented pool of people, and i am just happy to share these moments with them and get better and better at what we do.
There should be no stone left unturned when it comes to roasting understanding, innovation and experimentation and this is hopefully the very beginning of that great path for us. This is certainly the most responsibility I have ever had, but truly and genuinely the most support I have ever received from an employer on all levels.
I feel really fortunate, and after almost 10 years in specialty coffee, I have a place to call home and have something to show for it. Intelligentsia is every bit as intimidating, as innovative, as forward thinking and as crazy filled with talent as you may think. It’s all true. I am not saying it’s perfect, but in it’s pursuit of perfection it is truly relentless and unafraid of carefully calculated risks. I have never felt so pushed to the seams and satisfied at the same time. Cheers to finally feeling like an adult at 32, and feeling like I have worked hard to achieve something I consider fantastic.
I wish my mom were here to see it.

be well.

~ by Me on August 11, 2010.

One Response to “I am still here, at least for now…”

  1. I can’t wait to see what happens when you really stretch out in this new role, man!

    I’ll be able to show people the first business card ever! Haha

Leave a Reply

 
